Off to the Ball

Last weekend I found myself in a very surreal situation. One where punch bowls were bought for £720, and a devotion to elite equestrian sports the common factor. My lovely friend Lucy had invited me, along with eight other friends, to her polo club’s annual ball. It was champagne, candelabras and a whole lot of jazz. I was in heaven.

Leadenham 1

Leadenham 17

Leadenham 2

Leadenham 3

Leadenham 4

Wine. Salmon. Dark chocolate mousse. I was stuffed and overindulged. As a part-time waitress I was over the moon to be the one on the receiving end. After dinner a charity bidding war ensued with polo-related prizes up for grabs. Little under a £1000 was each paid for a two-day residential polo course with a New Zealand professional, and one days hunting with a Young England Event Rider. Kerching.

Leadenham 5

My friend Laura working new-season over-sized tailoring.

Leadenham 6

A fabulous live band belted out some excellent jazz and reggae. Then the DJ came on with Beyonce and co until 3am. Everyone looked immaculate. Lace, minimalist cocktail dresses and chic, silk gowns were the styles of choice. Less was more for the polo set.

Leadenham 13

Leadenham 16

Leadenham 15

Leadenham 14

A night is not complete without a cheeky, pixelated Iphone ‘selfie’ with my friend Joe.

Leadenham 11

Leadenham 12

Leadenham 8

Leadenham 7

I did not own a full-length dress so opted for something shorter, but pretty and dressy. I have owned this beautiful, white Zara dress for about a year. The long sleeves made it that bit warmer, the bright white colour was very summery and the intricate beading on the front very monastic Emilio Pucci/ Dolce & Gabbana AW 13/14, as a nod towards the new season. I accessorized with the classic black court heels of the moment, and a gold chain strap vintage-look shoulder bag.

Leadenham 18

Zara Dress

Leadenham 20

Primark Heels

Leadenham 19

Urban Outfitters Bag

Having listened to the virtues of only ever wearing flats on nights out from Lucy’s university friend Laura, I cast my painful heels aside in order to dance the night away. However, having briefly misplaced them, Cinderalla left the ball avec shoes and her outfit complete.

One thought on “Off to the Ball

Leave a Reply

